Shahbaz Sharif Elected 23rd Prime Minister Of Pakistan

ISLAMABAD : The National Assembly has elected PML-N President Shahbaz Sharif as the new Leader of the House, after which Shahbaz Sharif has been elected as the Prime Minister of Pakistan. 

Read Also: PTI Submits Reference Against Deviant Members in Punjab Assembly

It may be recalled that Shahbaz Sharif from the United Opposition and Shah Mehmood Qureshi from the PTI were the prime ministerial candidates for the new Leader of the House. However, after the boycott by the PTI, Shahbaz Sharif remained the sole candidate.

Shahbaz Sharif got 174 votes in the House after which he has been elected as the 23rd Prime Minister of Pakistan. Shahbaz Sharif will take oath as the PM of Pakistan tonight at 08:00 pm.

Earlier, addressing the National Assembly, Shah Mehmood Qureshi said that in the current situation, we believe that taking part in the election of the Leader of the House is tantamount to giving legitimacy to an illegitimate government, so we should not participate in this sin. Yes, I am announcing boycott of the process of election of the Prime Minister. As per the decision of the party, we are also announcing our resignation from the assembly. On this occasion, PTI members walked out of the house chanting slogans.